The Big Leap│Buying My Domain+Long Term Plans

I know I am still a fairly new blogger, but I have made a decision to take my blog to the next level and really commit long term. I made the decision to buy my own domain and I want to share my reasoning and thoughts behind the decision.

DSC00123.JPG

I started my blog about a month ago, which is not long, but I have met some lovely people along the way and hope to meet more as I continue to grow my blog. I have long term plans for my blog, which is why I have decided to buy my domain earlier than I originally planned… This way I can show that I am serious about this blog and that I plan to make this into a career.

Now, I know what you are thinking… “Here comes the ad monetization”… But that is not the case, at least for right now. Don’t get me wrong, I plan to use ads in the future, but to an extent and not until I grow my audience and have more of a connection in the blogging world. And do not worry… I do not plan on slapping a bunch of ads throughout my blog, especially throughout my posts (no sir). Ads are something that I do not plan on being the highlight of my blog or source of advertising, if you know what I mean. I plan on working mostly with brands because I think there are some amazing brands out there who need to be shared with people. When I make the decision to monetize my blog with ads, rest assured knowing that I will let you know. Of course, I will always mark the posts that are sponsored as well, you can read more about that in my PR/Disclaimer page. But for now, I just plan on purchasing my domain to make my blog a bit more professional rather than just a hobby.

DSC00131.JPG

From the day I started my blog, I have come to find that I really have a passion for writing and sharing my advice with people. I do consider myself a people person as I love helping people out in many different ways, which is what I plan to do with my blog. I hope to give product/service reviews to recommend products that I find could be helpful, inspire people to be themselves, and give my advice on different topics that I hope could help someone out. I always look at reviews before buying a products because, of course, I do not want to spend my hard earned money on something if it was not at least recommended to me, especially if it is expensive (lets be honest most people in their 20’s probably are thinking the same thing). I always look at reviews before buying a product. That is why I find that when someone recommends a product to me, I feel more comfortable trying it out to see if I will like it or if it will help me. Don’t you agree?

DSC00127.JPG

Now with buying my domain, there is always two options to choose from… going hosted or self-hosted. Let me tell you, I looked deeply into what I chose to do and I finally came to the conclusion that I wanted to stay on a hosted network just for now. Since I am still fairly new, I feel it would be best if I stayed on a hosted network at least until I have really gotten a handle on the technology side of a website. I am choosing to stay on WordPress.com for now and just buy a domain on here so that I can focus more on my content and I can continue to pour my passion into this love for blogging I have.

DSC00130.JPG

I am really excited about the journey ahead of me and can’t wait to see what the future holds for my blog♥ I hope to inspire any of you thinking about possibly taking your blog to the next level! If you have any questions please ask! I would love to hear some feedback from you guys.

Have you bought your domain yet? Did you go self-hosted or hosted? Why did you choose what you went with? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for Listening♥

signature_ajqg06qt311qvaonvc

 Bloglovin’ – YouTube – Twitter

 Instagram – Facebook

Published by

danielleruppert

I'm just a simple girl who wants to share her experiences with the world. Don't forget to give my blog a follow so you know when I have a new post! New posts every Wednesday XOXO

34 thoughts on “The Big Leap│Buying My Domain+Long Term Plans”

  1. I’m so glad you made this post as I’ve been “umming and ahing” for such a long time as I want sure which direction to go as I’m so new to it all. This has definitely offered me clarity. Thank you for sharing!

    @ohsorochellie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s been almost a month since I’ve began blogging and I’ve been considering buying a domain as well. I’m still not entirely sure which one to pick but thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. I stumbled upon this post on twitter, and it excited me because I am currently at the same crossroads of a decision on whether or not to purchase my domain and sign up as well.

    I love the layout of your blog, and will be back to read more articles. You have an excellent flow in writing, and I like how you include your own photos. Especially like your personal signature!

    All Love ~ Danielle

    Like

  4. Loved this post!
    Adding a domain just makes it feel like people will take you more seriously, and I can’t believe how many people you’ve managed to reach in just a month! Congrats #girlpower! I started mine last week & I’m really struggling to increase traffic to my blog, but I guess as you say it’s about taking it another level, so I’ll have to increase the work I put in!
    Can’t wait to read more xx

    Like

Leave a comment